New to Alloy - discussions and questions

Hi everyone!

I’m new at Alloy and I am using it and I will going to use it to try to achieve a transpiler from a particular existing specification language to Alloy and use the capabilities of Alloy on the models written in the source language.

I have just read the following reply: Alloy 6 vs. TLA+ - #21 by alexshirley and since I am facing with lots of the nice features and pain points which @alexshirley describes I wanted to introduce myself and tell how I am working around the difficulties. So maybe they are of help to someone, and also maybe someone came to a better solution and wants to share it. I also want to ask for some clarification on a particular matter, which has been pointed out in @alexshirley post too.

Since I think this is will come quite large and kind of diverts the topic where that reply has been done, I decided to open a new topic.

First I will talk about variables being able to change when their behavior isn’t explicitly stated.

Since actions word has been already used, I will keep using that term for the predicates/functions we write in Alloy that specifies how our system must change, that is, which actions can be taken over it step by step.
I will also call system variables to the variables over which our system has control and that shouldn’t change except they are explicitly changed (by an action).

To solve this problem I took this path:

I am using ‘earmarkers’ to know which action is being taken at each step. That is, I define an enum (lets call it ACTIONS) with all the actions, then I define an signature with a field which is a set of ACTIONS. Then every time an action is taken I add the correct atom of ACTIONS to the set, and explicitly say that isn’t in the set when the action isn’t taken.