How to check to see if a file has gone through same state

Hi,

I am new to using Alloy 6 and just was following along with some simple Recycling bin examples on this website I found. Everything in the model is fine I just was wondering how to assert a case I thought of which is how would I check if its possible that a specific file that was already deleted was attempted to be deleted again. Thanks for any help.

var sig File{}
var sig Trash in File{}

fact init {
no Trash
}
pred empty{
some Trash and
after no Trash and // why ands are used here but not in delete?
File’ = File - Trash
}
pred delete [f: File]{
not f in Trash //can this be no f in Trash?
Trash ’ = Trash + f
File’ = File
}
pred restore [f: File] {
f in Trash
Trash’ = Trash - f
File’ = File
}

pred idle {
File’ = File
Trash’ = Trash
}

fact transition {
always (empty or (some f: File | delete[f] or restore[f]) or idle) //you are always going to be in empty or deleting or restoring
}

//I want to check if there is a case in which you delete the same file twice or can this be done rather?
assert delete_same_file {
}

You want to see such a scenario, so it’s easier to think in terms of run. Here’s a hint: you’re asking whether, at some point in the future, there’s a file that’s deleted and then, strictly later, it’s deleted again.

Thanks I will try and do that. Why run though run to me I have thought of as I want to visualize a scenario and asserts are more useful for checking something if its ever possible right? Just trying to learn Alloy and this way of thinking so if you have any insight to how you came to Run as the better use vs Assert and check I would value that!

Let us write S for our spec and P for the property analyzed by a command, in scope k.

Then run P asks whether there is an instance in scope k that satisfies S && P. This can be written summarily as the problem called SAT_k(S && P)