Alloy 6 vs. TLA+

I know Alloy 6 is fairly new, but I was wondering if there are anecdotes of people who have used both Alloy 6 and TLA+? I assume that given they are both high-level formal specification languages which support temporal logic, I assume this is not an unreasonable comparison.

Specifically, I’m curious about the learning experience and the ease of use to modelling various domains. I did find @grayswandyr posted on lobster.rs. I also know Hillel Wayne has been trying to write a comparison, but currently has other priorities.

1 Like

I’m still quite new to Alloy, but I’ve basically deep dived TLA+ for the last 2-3 months.
TLA+ really shines when it comes to state machines, but it’s very unstructured.

Meanwhile, I feel that Alloy does much better describing structures than state machines. If I’m going to architect a new database, I reach for Alloy.

If I’m working with complex state, and interacting systems (embedded development or complex GUI flow) I reach for TLA+

2 Likes

I’ve never heard of “complex GUI flow” as a use-case for TLA+. Do you have an example of this posted somewhere?

Sadly no. It’s a monolith I’m working with. Suffice to say, there was a some business logic embedded in the GUI that should’ve been isolated from the presentation layer.

Although I mainly use Alloy, I teach both Alloy and TLA+.